This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Keyboard Fun

Okay, I'll admit it straight away: I'm a keyboard snob. I have a right to be - I'm a programmer, and therefore using a keyboard accurately is a fundamental part of my job.

Most people won't spend more than €15 on a keyboard. In fact, most people won't buy a keyboard at all, but simply accept what comes with their computer. Many other people will deliberately go for the cheapest keyboard they can find because they spill coffee a lot or have a cat, so minimising replacement cost is important.

I am careful not to spill my coffee, and I don't have a cat. I therefore am quite comfortable with owning and using keyboards that are old enough to be rebelling against their parents or even going out to the pub and buying drinks. Accordingly, I see nothing wrong with spending €70 on one which will last that long (often even if occasional coffee or cats are involved). In turn, I expect to get *exactly* the one I'm looking for.

The local mega computer store carries precisely one PC-type keyboard with an English layout. It's on a multi-week back order, and it's a Microsoft "ergonomic" type. No thanks.

They do also carry English versions of Apple keyboards, but I'm really not comfortable with the prospect of chiclets - which I thought had been thoroughly buried by the PCjr back in 1984. The Apple variant keyboards are also sufficiently different from the original IBM standard as to be awkward to use in Linux and Windows.

A colleague suggested I talk to the IT guys to find out where they got theirs from. However, there is a distinct shortage of English keyboards even in our company, and there were no spare ones in IT. I gave that up as a lost cause - after all, I aleady use my very own IBM Model M (this is the one that's old enough to drink) at my workstation, even though it periodically resets itself due to overloading the USB adapter attached to it.