This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• why bowling allyes have so many balls

this happed years ago, while i was a mechanic at a bowling alley. i never actually met the sc's in question but i really would have liked to have been up front for this one. i wouldnt call them sucky perse but it was um interesting.

for the type of machine that i was working on (the house had brunswick2000 machines) it was not uncommon for a pin to fly off the pin wheel and make a loud noise. when this happens you just put the pin back in the machine and go on your way.

well one day i was sitting down in the back eating my lunch and i heard the infamous sound, but it wasnt stopping,

wham, thump thump, wham thump thump, and so on,

so i stick my head out of the room in back to see whats going on, it was a rather large house (60 lanes) and our room was located in the center per normal for bowls, and i look toward the lower end of the house and i see a whole bunch of balls on the ground.

so i get up and see whats going on thinking that the curtain had fallen or something but it still didnt explain the amount of balls that were on the floor. usually if someone doesnt get their ball back they will call the back and see what happend and send it back.

so i call up front and have them stop the machine till we can figure out what is going on with it. we fix it and they start it up again, it brakes again, finally we have them move to another set of lanes.

the front asks us what is going on i tell them about all the balls on the ground. they get curious and go to ask the customers why were there so many balls used.

the customers were from another country and had never been bowling before, apparently they thought the reason there were so many balls up front was that people would throw them through out the day and then at night we would send them back.

i guess the machine had been busted the whole time that they were bowling, cause they never saw one ball come back.