This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Starting to wonder why I even bother to try anymore

Its like fate has decided to keep me down at the poverty level.

I try and try to move up so that I'm not making barely above minimum wage, but every time I try I get refused in spite of being told that I'm great at what I do.

Yes, I know its fatalistic and pessimistic, but when you get slapped down every single time you feel like you have a chance to become more than just a clerk in a job, it gets really wearing.

I've been working since I was 12 years old. I'm 36 now. And I just cannot get beyond $11 an hour even after working at a place for YEARS.

I almost had a chance once, but I was moving out of the country soon so they decided not to give it to me. I don't get it. I don't know what the problem is.

I have a college education and its not in something crappy, its in something useful. Oh yes, I use what I learned, but I just can't seem to get what I'm worth. Even raises are around 11 cents.

Yes, I know... work for someone else. I try, I really do. I send out resume's and use my contacts. I can move to another company and have, but its always a lateral move as I try to find a place that will at least give me a modicum of respect. I'm even a member of the Chamber of Commerce to try to give myself a leg up and push my own business.

But it all goes nowhere at all. I get refused for every job I apply for that might have a chance of paying me more money with benefits, even the ones that talk about how much they love me.

Heck, just today I got refused for a job that I'm infinitely qualified for. And the guy said he loved my qualifications and experience. The reason it gave it to someone else? Because they could live on site. Apparently experience had nothing to do with it. I was perfect for this job and I was refused over the stupidest possible reason. And the guy didnt even call me to tell me, my husband knows him and told me.