This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Clothes lined coach.

It was a Friday night at Golden Arch hell. I had recently been promoted to 2nd level prowler daemon, which came with all the fun of managing older, more evil beings than me, without any of the benefits.

Yes, I was a shift manager, at 18 years old, trying to convince people twice my age to flip burgers for a living, night after night.

Though, thanks to a football game at the highschool nearby this night, convincing a bunch of guys who acted like they were still in highschool, to do their jobs for the high school aged girls that came in, was a little easier.
    Especially after the game, when both teams Cheerleaders came in. And ordered nothing but salads and milkshakes.

Which, maybe I should have taken as a sign, but then, I blame my inexperience. And the fact I had only been a shift manager for a couple of weeks. AND the fact that one of the cheerleaders was smiling at me. But I digress.
    I didn't see the bus pull up.
    I didn't notice that the bus was full of hungry, just got out of the game and their uniforms foot ball players.
    And I didn't know they had just lost the game.

Now, to clarify, this is Louisiana we're talking about. If you didn't play football, you weren't getting anywhere in life. So, it's safe to say that not just the players, but the coach was in a foul mood from the fact he and his team had just had their asses stomped by (my) highschool next door.

So, after my lobby fills up with sweaty, hormonally off balanced teens, in walks the two coaches. The obvious head coach throws a check down on the counter in front of my register girl. She doesn't even touch it, but looks immediately to me.
    I look at the coach.
    He looks at me.
    I curse myself for not having heat vision.

I walk up to the counter, and over the high pitched squeals and grunting, am able to make out that this coach called ahead, and is ready to pick up his order.