X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• This is the SC brain after a six-pack of stupid

Quoth BookstoreEscapee View Post
    Well, you have to tell it, now! You can't just leave us hanging!
    Ok, so it's Friday, and it's about 20 minutes after I take the "No, this is not the Cable TV company" call. I don't have an assigned seat yet, and since I'm new to the department, I sit VERY VERY close to a supervisor (we'll call her Miss Polly Polite).
    This is the portion of the call I got to hear later on recording:
    PP = Miss Polly Polite, one of the sweetest, nicest, most even-tempered people I have ever met. Nothing upsets her, and she's always calm and professional, never swears.
    SC = woman calling in after consuming a six-pack of stupid and a fifth of ignorant

PP: Thank you for calling FU-Telephone Repair, this is Polly, how can I help you tonight?
    SC: I think my house is on fire.
    PP: Ma'am, you need to call 911 immediately and leave the premises.
    SC: But I think it started in the wall where the phone wires might be.
    PP: We can determine that later. Right now, you need to hang up and call 911. Then make sure all other residents leave the premises with you.
    SC: Oh god! I can see the flames <sound of door being slammed shut> Can you get a repairman out here?
    PP: Ma'am, I need you to listen to me. You must hang up and call 911.
    SC: But I need to stay on the line so I can report this.

At this point, I've just gone on break, and I hear Polly Polite start to raise her voice, which she never does. Then she motions for me to come to her desk and yells out "Bring your headset."
    I go over. I plug in to the phone, and I hear:

PP: But ma'am, you need to.....
    SC: ... oh, sweet jesus, the smoke's starting to come into the room. What do I do?
    PP<screaming like a banshee, thereby alerting literally the entire call center>: Hang up and call 911! Do it now! Nine!! One!! One!!