This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• You will never win that case

I was having a discussion with one of our regulars. Now as a background, I am an amateur coin collector and know a lot about collecting coins. This woman was telling me about her grandson who inherited a ton of coins from a deceased relative. He kept the coins in a closet. She tells me that one week his family invited a younger relative to their house, and this girl proceeded to take his entire collection and blow it at a market on junk food . The collection was worth several thousand dollars and the kid just blew it all spending it at face value. Now the woman tells me that she should have gone after the vendor for "not telling her family what the kid was doing."
    Wait, what ?! The merchant was supposed to tell the family that their kid was spending valuable coins on junk? Are you kidding me? I told the woman "I sympathize with you, I really do. But you are wasting your time. You will never win that case. It was legal U.S. currency and he had every right to accept it."
    Was it wrong of the merchant? Not really. If the kid wanted the junk so badly he was glad to accept any payment. All this really did was make one merchant a small fortune for praying on the naivete of a kid. The family should have gone after the girl for spending his coins. But they will NEVER win a case against the merchant for taking the coins. I side with the merchant on this one.
    I am the commander commando!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Are these US coins? If so, they are still legal tender. Yes, even if the coin was minted in 1890 or something, its still legal tender.

Merchant accepted the coins for face value, transaction was completed. The merchant also may not have even paid attention or even know what was going on. For a lot of coins, unless you know what you're looking for you will have no idea that a coin in your hand is actually worth 1000x its face value.