This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Retired lawyer...

We have credit card and eftpos facilities, but don't do cash out over the counter. We have an ATM in the store for people who want cash. Under our merchant agreements (and a little thing called the law) we're not obliged to offer cash over the counter and we don't even have to have the ATM.

SC: "I'll pay on credit and take a hundred cash out..."
    Me: "We don't do cash out, we have the ATM over there if you need cash."
    SC: "Yes you do do cash out, it's the law."
    Me: "No it's not and we don't. There's an ATM just over there..."
    SC: "I'm a retired lawyer and I know it's the law that you do cash out!"
    Me: "We got the ATM because we're not set up for cash out over the counter."
    SC: (pays in cash, also I see at least 3 $100 notes in his wallet) "You'll be hearing from the authorities!"

I wonder what the authorities will say. Maybe something like "Did you punch a grumpy old fart in the face? No? OK I'll arrest him for wasting my time."

It always amazes me as to what SCs deiced is "The Law."

Comment

At first I thought that the topic title was "Retard Lawyer"

I CAN'T be the only one who thought it read that...

Comment

Quoth Darken Spiritz View Post
        At first I thought that the topic title was "Retard Lawyer"
        If his behavior post-retirement is anything to go by, he may have been a retarded lawyer.

Comment

Quoth edible_hat View Post
          SC: (pays in cash, also I see at least 3 $100 notes in his wallet) "You'll be hearing from the authorities!"

I wonder what the authorities will say. Maybe something like "Did you punch a grumpy old fart in the face? No? OK I'll arrest him for wasting my time."
          Somehow, I'm looking forward to that. Not that I want you to get in trouble. But I think it might be fun if you indeed heard from the authorities. For us to read, at lleast.