X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The job

I have another thread in life advice.

http://www.customerssuck.com/board/s...d.php?t=114030

So I quit my job today. This is what happened that led up to it. I'm going to try to make separate posts with each incident to try to keep some sort of order to this so I don't drift in to different topics.

A couple of days after that thread started, this is what began....

A have had to change my blood pressure medicine. I'm also severely allergic to pot (please don't tell me I'm lying, I'm not) to the point where my throat starts to close. I have to take benedryl to prevent my throat from closing and it can take a while for even that to work. I work in the hotel industry and everyone and their dog seems to think it's ok to smoke it which makes my life very difficult because benedryl makes me incredibly sleepy.

Here's the thing, I've taken it with the last medicine and short of making me a bit sleepy it didn't do much. This stuff... well it's still new to me and I didn't realize the benedryl would have such an intense reaction with it.

It didn't just make me sleepy, it made me confused, kind of dizzy, and I had one really horrible day because of it making some bad mistakes. My blood pressure crashed and I almost ended up in the hospital after work.

I texted my boss to let him know what happened (after eating a whole lot of salt to bring my blood pressure back up to normal). He expressed concern. And then he and HR ambushed me the next day. Not out of concern for my well being but how badly it affected my work performance, and how much of a problem I caused the company because I was dazed. And THEN my manager sent me an email detailing how disappointed he was in me and that I had to make sure to tell them when something was wrong so it doesn't impact the business "just like we just discussed".