This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• If you call your insurance company...

This is my first post, so bear with me. I hope this is the right place for this post; it isn't tech support, but it is phone-related. I work as a receptionist for a small insurance company (we'll call it XYZ Insurance) located somewhere in the western part of the United States. I answer phones all day long and try to connect callers to the claims examiner, underwriter, accountant, auditor, etc. they need to speak with.

Until I took this job, I had no idea how many 5-year-old spoiled brats are living in the bodies of purported adults, nor how widespread stupidity is. I'm going to write this post as if I were talking directly to the morons who call me every day, but here I can say the things I'm not allowed to say directly to the morons!

If you call your insurance company, and you tell me that you are calling with a question about your policy, would you please have the common sense to have the policy number right in front of you? You might know I'm going to ask you for it, and I get SO tired of hearing, "Oh, no, I don't have my policy number, I left it at home." Or, "Yeah, I have it here somewhere (papers rustling, rustling, rustling). Ok, here it is." If you are the claimant, and you are calling to inquire about the status of a claim, please don't make me go through the following: "Do you have the claim number?" "No." "Do you have the policy number?" "No." "Do you have the name of the insured?" "No. Can't you look it up under my name?" "Um, no, because since you're the claimant, I can't pull any information on the claim up unless I have the claim number, the insured's policy number, or the name of the insured. You surely got that information, at least some of it, from the insured or their agent, right?" Apparently not - sigh.