Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Old man wants me to "prove" it's a bad sound card.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Old man wants me to "prove" it's a bad sound card.

OK, I get this real winner of a call yesterday. Note this this is the first time I EVER had a complaint on me.

SC calls up after getting "help" from one of the other techs. SC then tells me that he took it upon himself to run the recovery program after the tech had him run a virus scan (which was NOT needed) and he still has no sound.

It turns out he had the printer plugged in while the recovery was running, but I advised him that we can run the recovery again but as it was already run twice we are looking at a bad sound card.

He then rails into me, saying that I am just guessing to get out of helping him. I tell him that is not the case, that I was a hardware tech before I came here (true) and when a drive is formatted twice and windows reloaded from the recovery program, if there is still no sound it's a hardware issue and needs to be physically addressed. He says "I don't care who you were, fix my issue!" I tell him that the only way to fix it would be to go to his house and replace the sound card which is an impossibility so he needs to take it somewhere to get fixed.