This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• grilling reciepes...

with summer slowly (ok...VERY slowly) creeping up on us, I'm looking to improve my grilling skills again since any time I turn on the oven in the summer time my kitchen goes up 10 degrees (5 for the stove top).

I LOVE the foil packet dinners I made for a while and want to expand more on those...

I'm a fairly competent cook, and while small I have a fairly well stocked kitchen in the way of "devices" (except a dishwasher and a potato masher ><)
    It is by snark alone I set my mind in motion. It is by the juice of the coffee bean that thoughts acquire 'tude, the lips acquire mouthiness, the glares become a warning.

My favorite type of grilling always involves marinades - the longer you can let your meat absorb some extra flavoring, the better IMO. Here's a couple easy ones:

Teriyaki Marinade - Recipe amounts are for a single "dose", but I often make a double or triple batch since we REALLY like the sauce. That way I can save some to re-apply to the meal after it grills, or to add to it while it grills.

1 tablespoon cornstarch
    1 tablespoon cold water
    1/4 cup white sugar
    1/4 cup brown sugar
    1/2 cup soy sauce
    1/4 cup cider vinegar
    1-2 clove(s) garlic, minced
    1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
    1/4 teaspoon black pepper

Just combine all ingredients in a sauce pan on low heat and simmer, stirring often, until the mixture bubbles and thickens. For a double/triple batch you CAN raise heat to boil for a very short time, then lower back to simmer to thicken faster, but don't overdo it or the sauce will caramelize. Once the sauce is made, let it cool, then simply load it into a bag with the meat you want to cook. Works great for pork chops and chicken. Marinating time: ~8+ hours makes a great result, do 2-4 hours minimum for a good bet though.