This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Graphics card question...

My fiance bought one of those excellent $1400 gaming laptops with his tax return a year or two ago and so far it has yet to disappoint. It can run Skyrim on its highest settings with no trouble and hardly any heat from the card. Same for Minecraft, which is more taxing due to size than graphics, but whatever.

But then there's Sims 3.

When I started playing it, it would take virtually no time at all for the area around the num pad/arrow keys (presumably where the GC is) to get BLAZING HOT to the point if I rested my hand there for more than a few seconds, it would start to hurt.

What's up?

I've removed Sims 3 and am playing 2 without much complaint (only thing I really miss is the easy customization) but want to know -- what is going on?
    My Guide to Oblivion

"I resent the implication that I've gone mad, Sprocket."

Fans

I never trust the fans to kick in time, so I have wired the last two laptops I owned so a three way switch offers normal computer control, low and high fan speeds.

In the high speed mode I never found the machine running hot.

Comment

Just a hunch, but try turning Vsync on. Sometimes, especially with casual or older games, a good graphics card is so fast that the CPU is fully occupied feeding it with data. Vsync has the side-effect of limiting the framerate, so reducing the work to do.

Comment

Ahh, so that's what Vsync is! I was curious about that.
        My Guide to Oblivion

Comment

Yep. If it still gets hot, you might be able to switch the fans to high during the game (if they aren't), or you can rig up a fan (potentially), or a myriad of other "improv" solutions. Those are riskier, and not particularly aesthetic.