This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The tale of a check-in

I'm thinking this is gonna be pretty long by the time I am done.

I'm a software engineer. I work on computer code. I check code out of a repository, make changes to fix a bug or implement a feature, and check the code back in. The repository has different "branches", which are basically different versions of the code that builds the product which has gone out (or will go out) to customers.

So, we finished up major development for Product 6.0 recently. Yay, huzzah, let's have some celebratory events! There are a few other things to clean up, mostly things found in alpha- and beta-testing, but nothing else is supposed to be changed in 6.0 so that we have a stable set of features and stable code-base to present to the world.

OK, so new features and things that we decided we weren't fixing get checked into the next branch. That would be 6.1, right?

Right?

Hello, is this thing plugged in?

Well, you see, we had too many development branches for the 6.0 version, and putting them together into a single code base was painful. We don't want to go through that again, so we are trying to figure out the "branching strategy".

So, can I have some branch to check into in the meantime? No? Um, OK. I guess I can just sit on this fix that I have implemented and tested and had reviewed and all of that.

After a few weeks, I start asking people. Like my supervisor. And her supervisor. And his supervisor. And his. I go up four levels of management, asking "What is going on with the Product 6.1 branching?" I get basically no answer. The four-layers-up guy basically blew me off with some general platitudes and no actual answers.