This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gay Pride Week at Disney. Oh no!

I'm still steamed about a call I took about 4 hours ago. Just to recap, I'm a travel agent in an emergency after-hours call center. That means that the calls to about 200 agencies around the country, large and small, roll to us after 5pm and on weekends, but ONLY if you press a button that the call is urgent.

SBW - Stupid, Bigoted Woman
    Me -

Me: Thanks for calling xxxxxx, this is Peppergirl, how can I help you?

SBW - I was trying to reach Brenda.

Me: I'm sorry ma'am, we're the after-hours EMERGENCY service for them. Is there something that I can help you with? (I say this at LEAST 20 times a day)

SBW: Well, I'm looking at a brochure for Disney, but I want to make sure that the week we're planning to go isn't that damned GAY PRIDE week!

Me: I see.

SBW: ....

Me: .....

SBW: Well, is it?

Me: Ma'am, I don't know when you're planning to go, and as I stated a moment ago, this is the EMERGENCY after hours line for xxxx agency.

SBW: Well, I want to go (whatever date - I dont even remember now). But I don't want to go when the GAYS are there, IF you know what I MEAN.

Me: Actually, I'm sure I don't. Regardless, you'll need to give your agent a call in the morning after 830am because as I stated, this is the EMERGENCY line.

SBW: Fine!

Me: (through gritted teeth and sarcastically) Have a nice evening.

Seriously. First off, ? Second of all, how does she know what MY sexual preference is. I have many gay and lesbian friends, especially in the travel industry.

I didn't even care that I was a snarky bitch right back to her. I know my manager wouldn't tolerate it either, even if she WERE to tell on me.
    "So, if you wanna put places like that outta business, just stop being so rock-chewingly stupid." ~ Raudf, 9/19/13

Well Im sure they dont want her there ruining their vacation either!

Comment