This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Interview at newspaper office

I applied for a reporter job at the local newspaper office and I was actually shocked I was called back for an interview. I have zero newsroom experience (ad even said such folks were going to be preferred), but I guess my freelance article writing was impressive enough to warrant hearing more. I thought people needed journalism degrees to become reporters...

I still have to schedule the interview...part of me wants the job since it's writing, which I love to do, but I am so not going to be good at interviewing people. I have awful social skills and I hate talking to people in person who I don't know.

Anyone here ever worked in a newspaper office or been a reporter? Is there anything in particular maybe I should know? I'm all nervous and I doubt I'll even get hired.

I'm also hoping, should I get hired, that the dress code is office casual...I've gained weight since my last job and all my dressy slacks are uncomfortably tight, and I'm not sure I'll have time to shop for more pants (without being told what a fat ass I am by my mother) before the interview. I may just bite and wear whatever ill-fitting pair is least uncomfortable and just wear a baggy shirt to hide the godawful muffin top I will have. The man who will be interviewing me called around 7 last night, so I wonder if I'd be working nights. That would be even better! I'm a lazy son of a bitch and I love to sleep.

Speaking of my mother, she is the one who suggested trying to impress the editor by saying, "Durr, I got a hunderd in English!"
    Last edited by ShadowBall; 08-08-2011, 07:42 PM.

o_o AWESOME.
    Definitely dress nice, like you should at an interview. Dress over the job you want, as this shows you are serious and you want this and you can look snazzy. Good first impressions and all. And even if that doesn't matter, you now have dress clothes that fit.