Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I get that you're stressed...(warning: one big ol' F-bomb within)

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I get that you're stressed...(warning: one big ol' F-bomb within)

...but that doesn't excuse your behavior.

I work as a student tutor. That means I am an engineering student and I work in the tutoring center for some extra cash. I am NOT a teacher, but I have taken all the classes that I tutor in. Now that that's out of the way, on to the main suck.

Today was rather busy for the first week of the semester (think 3 students for each tutor). Not sucky in and of it's self, but that means I didn't get to eat. This particular girl came in 2 hours early for her appointment during the only slow time I had so help her since I don't have another student at the time.

I can tell she's nervous and I try to help her relax by giving her a big smile and trying to make her laugh. She just glared at me and told me she has a "very serious issue and she'd appreciate it if I got serious". Ok, humor doesn't go over well with everyone, so we start in on her Physics chapter.

Let me say this first; I love it when people ask me questions, but please let me finish talking first. Once I explain how things go, you are free to fire off your questions with both barrels. Just please listen first.

Right from the start she constantly interrupts me (I hate this) with "Why?" while I'm trying to explain the concepts and when I tell her it'll become clear when I'm finished, she rolls her eyes (I loath this).

When we work through the examples in the book, she CONSTANTLY interrupts with "How did you do that?" and "I don't understand, but ok." When I pause to get her to explain what she doesn't understand, she refuses to say what she'd not getting and wants to keep going.

We finish with the examples and I start to explain the next session when she says this little gem: