This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ren Fest costume making question

So we went to the Texas Ren Fest this past weekend and saw (as always) several drool worthy costumes and things. One of which was this--Necromancer costume. It is upwards of 900USD, far beyond what I can afford. Is it more cost effective to make a similar outfit? I'd have to learn how to sew, use a sewing machine, buy fabric, etc. but -in theory- it's possible. Yeah? Or should I just save up and buy the robes?

Quoth violiavampyr View Post
    Is it more cost effective to make a similar outfit? I'd have to learn how to sew, use a sewing machine, buy fabric, etc. but -in theory- it's possible. Yeah? Or should I just save up and buy the robes?
    If you knew how to sew already, it might be more cost effective. Might. But since you're a complete beginner, you'd have to learn. I'm not saying this to turn you off of learning to sew. It's a good skill and a good hobby. But if you start too big, you'll burn yourself out, and you'll have wasted all that money for nothing. You'd need to start simple, like making pillowcases, move up to simple articles of clothing, etc.

Looking at the picture, that looks hella complicated. Velveteen and twill are heavy fabrics and not the easiest to work with, and there's a great deal of complicated embroidery. I've gotten pretty good at sewing, and I wouldn't attempt that! There's a very good reason it costs that much; it takes a lot of time, money and effort to make something like that. So unless you're willing to learn how to sew, keep at it until you're an expert and sacrifice lots of time (I don't mean hours, I mean months!) to make that costume, I'd strongly suggest buying it already made.
    Last edited by XCashier; 11-28-2013, 03:40 PM.
    I don't have an attitude problem. You have a perception problem.
    My LiveJournal
    A page we can all agree with!

Comment