This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm off duty (of a different kind)

A bit of background: I am a high school teacher (Monday to Friday) and a part time scientific researcher (most afternoons and Sunday). I give myself Saturday off. However,in the school and wider community, my dual professions are widely known

As such, the parents of my students are effectively my 'customers'[/bg]

Like most teachers, I do not carry my markbook, nor do I have it memorised.

On Saturdays, I go shopping (like many people), and I am just 'average Joe Citizen', but frequently what happens is (and my responses are in parentheses):

- Questions how a parent's son or daughter is going (I suggest they call the school to make an appointment for a proper meeting in school hours or ask by email). I sometimes get complaints about this, which are squashed by my awesome boss.

- Asking questions about how their son or daughter could improve (response as per above).

- Or worse, telling me their pet gripe about the education system which I can do nothing about.

- As a scientist, my biggest pet peeve is people coming up to me with their pet theory, or worse - conspiracy theory, mostly wanting to debate - I do not debate science from mere opinion, facts, observations, results are all that matter and tll them so - they get so butt-hurt... one even complained to the university I am affiliated with, they literally laughed then hung up on them.

Saturday is my day, day when I let my mind rest and to bathe in comforting apathy.

I have the exact same problem. One time, I moved into the community my school pulls from, and ended up across the street from one on my students (completely accidental). Not only did I have all the community greetings, I had families knocking on my door for homework help or asking why their child was in trouble. For that entire year, I never had a day off.

Comment