This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Neener Neener = Fail

This is a story from way back when I was a young and naive sales person. I was an assistant manager at a tiny jewelry kiosk, the sort that sells gold chain by the inch, and it was a typically slow day at the mall.

A customer finally walked up to the counter and after a smiled greeting, she smiled in return and thrust her hand out at me. "Tell me, do you know what this is?"

On her finger was a polished stone, set in a gold band.

Now, being the naive thing I was, I didn't realize what she was trying to do but the sight of it made me light up with a smile, rather excited actually.

"Oh yes, that's a Petoskey stone from Fire Lake in Michigan!" I probably would have babbled on but the lady gave me a stunned look that turned sour, muttering "Well then, yes. Hmph." before she stalked away.

My boss mentioned later that I'd stolen her thunder, her gloating power in having a fairly rare stone that I really shouldn't have been able to name. How ironic was it that she picked the one sales person likely in a few hundred miles, not to mention in a completely different state from the rock's origin, that knew that?

I'd grown up near there and my family went to the lake for vacations. I still have one of the Petoskey stones I found and polished as a child, and use it as a paperweight. Silly woman. Not uber sucky but certainly snarky.

Here's a picture link from Wikipedia: Petoskey

Anyone else ever have a SC bent on one upping them?
    Last edited by Snowbird; 01-02-2008, 11:44 AM. Reason: spelling, added link
    "You are the dumbest smart person I have ever met in my life!" Will Smith, 'I, Robot'.

"You LOSE! Good day, sir!" Gene Wilder, 'Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory'.

It makes you wish that you could have small multi-ethnic children singing "It's A Small World After All" in the background.
    "Oh, by the way..." All of my HATE