This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Was *I* the sucky customer?

Li'l background. Once upon a time, I used to be a helluva computer technician. The days of doing it for a living are over, but I still dabble here and there. And today I had need of some old-school hardware, known generically as a Laplink cable.

For those who know what that is, skip this paragraph. For those who don't, it's a data transfer cable specifically for connecting the parallel (printer) or serial ports of two computers together for the purpose of transferring data from one to the other - assuming, of course, you have the proper software. In the old DOS days, it was Interlink and Interserver, in Windows-95 and newer it's called Direct Cable Connection, and there are even third-party utilities that work with this (the most commonly known of which is Laplink, hence the name of the cable). Bottom line: I've used it a LOT of times. It works - a little slow, but it beats the old floppy shuffle.

Well, it turns out mine is missing in action, and I had to go out anyway, so I went into the big computer superstore we have here in SE Ohio, spent about a half-hour looking for what I wanted. I generally don't like to ask the sale staff for help, because often 'help' results in more headaches - as was the case today.

But, not finding the cable I wanted on their pegboard, I decided to abandon all hope and ask - perhaps they had one in the mythical land of Stock Room, or perhaps they could order one. So I flagged down one of the roving sales clerks, a young fellow about 20, by the looks of him.

And spent the next twenty minutes trying to explain to him what I was looking for. Repeatedly. And on at least two occasions he flat declared that there WAS no such thing, and upon my insistence that these items DO exist (or at least, they DID, and I'm certain someone, somewhere still makes them), he made a remark that made me absolutely see red. The comment? "Dude, crack kills."