This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another one about Hell

This thread--- http://www.customerssuck.com/board/s...ad.php?t=75423 reminded me of something that happened to me. So as not to threadjack, here it is:

I had similar issues with Dell. When I graduated high school, I was given a laptop as my graduation gift from my parents. At the time, they paid for a 3 year warranty. Three years later I went to extend my warranty as my parents birthday gift to me and it was like pulling teeth.

First guy I called and insisted I was giving the wrong identifying information (address it was billed to, address it was delivered to, phone number of original purchaser). Hung up with him. My dad thinks he was trying to get his average call time increased.

Called a second time, talked to a woman. Gave her the exact same information as the first guy, and it all checked out this time. Hmmm. She tells me that it would cost $XX.XX, but my dad would have to call to make the purchase. We were given her direct line. So my dad calls her, and now the price is $YY.YY (more than the original, but not by much) because she had "miscalculated." Also, the credit card machine is down, but they can put it on the computer and as soon as it's back up, they'll charge him. Then she gave him a confirmation number.

He called the next day to confirm it happened. It didn't happen. They had a record of the call, but the computer didn't save the information, so it never charged his card. They could help him out, however, and do it now for $ZZ.ZZ (about twice of $XX.XX). He said the original quote and asked that they honor that. They have no record of the first conversation I had with her, just the second one my dad had. He talked to the supervisor, but he insisted on $ZZ.ZZ, so my dad finally just said nevermind.