Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Coolest thing I've seen in a looong time...

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Coolest thing I've seen in a looong time...

Just got back from Garden City (which is a beach) where we stayed a few days and on Saturday, I saw the coolest thing. I just so happned to be looking out over the ocean and this manta ray jumped out of the water, flew through the air, and landed with a huge splash. If I would have blinked, I would have missed it.

I have no idea how big it was. It was out past the breakers. I know a few things, but can't guess size.

1. I could see the "horn" protrusions on it's head. Even at that distance and even at a quick glance. I do not possess sharp eyesight. And yet, I could clearly see details.

2. It made such a huge splash it was easily heard over the roar of the waves.

It was a big ray. I just have no way to tell how big. I'm not good at guestimating size, and trying to guess size out on the open sea is not easy even if I were. I would say it was certainly no smaller than about ten feet, but it could have been much larger. Those things get around twenty feet wide, I think. I've seen rays in the water before, and last time I was on Tybee Island, I actually put a bunch of Atlantic rays back in the ocean after they'd been beached. But we're talking a foot, maybe a foot and a half or so in diameter. This thing I saw was easily the biggest ray I've ever seen, even if I've underestimated its size.

I suspect only a handful of people saw it, judging from the reaction of other people.

I stood there for a long time hoping it would jump again. It didn't. But I have never seen anything like that.

Wish I could have seen that!
    When you start at zero, everything's progress.

Comment

Wow. I had no idea they could do that. They are scary-looking, but cool.
      "Is it hot in here to you? It's very warm, isn't it?"--Nero, probably

Comment