Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Apparently, I'm a cell phone technician!

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Apparently, I'm a cell phone technician!

So, my secret is out! I'm not really a lowly sales associate.... Oh no. Turns out, I'm a highly qualified cell-phone repair technician!

I learned this from one of my wonderful cell phone customers...(paraphrased because my memory is a tad off, plus it's too long already)

Mostly, I'm just amused by this whole exchange....

me: "Hello Sir, how may I help you today?"
    guy: "I'm about to throw this phone against the wall! It SUCKS! I have no service between X town and Y town. As soon as I cross over into Z town I can call fine! This phone has been nothing but problems since I've gotten it!"

me:" I'm sorry to hear that sir. How long have you had the phone for?"

guy: "It'll be one year next month"

me: (after verifying that this is accurate) Well, then Sir, it would seem your phone is still under warranty. Let me get you the phone number so you can call them and they will replace your phone."

guy: "Can't YOU do that for me?" (he used THAT tone of voice...)

me: "Actually, no I can't. The Warranty Department will want to speak with you directly"

guy: "Isn't that what YOU Get paid for? (rant, rant, rave)"

me: "Sir, they will want to speak with you, I cannot do it for you"

After some round and round and more ranting and raving, the manager suggests sending him to the service center up the road- I would have suggested this except they don't service the model phone he has. We send him anyway because at least he'll have a human to speak with...

Before he accepts this answer though....

Guy: "Well, why can't you just fix it? I want a good phone! What's a good phone?"

Me: "the warranty department will have to replace it for you, we do not do replacements in store"