This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• That Bulls**t!

For those who don't know, I work in insurance (home,car and contents).

I receive a file from my colleague asking if we can decline this claim.

I review the file, what she's given us, and the investigators reports. This customer has a high theft target vehicle, so she has to have a 5 star alarm installed or she gets a huge bump in her excess.

I listen to the first phone call - she originally tells us she took the alarm out after it stopped working, then when told about the excess suddenly tells us that it was installed and working when the car was stolen. Well well, that warrented the appointment of the investigator (telling us two different things in one call tends to start us down this path).

We then send her out a form she has to complete. This form is a statutory declation, and making a false statement on this form could be punished as purjury. She signs this declaration, telling us that the vehicle had a 5 star alarm and that it was in perfect mechanical condition.

Investigator then meets with her, and challenges her about the alarm. She admits that there was no alarm, that she had removed it prior to the theft. We also check with her mechanic and the vehicle was in a poor state - the horn and lights didn't work, the bumper was held on with tape, and the chassis was bent.

So she lied to try and get a lower excess, lied again to try and get a better settlement value. I call her up and tell her that the claim was declined (not mentioning that I've also referred it for a potential police complaint). She tells me 'this is bullshit'!.

I bit my tongue from replying 'no what you told us was bullshit, thats why your claim is declined '
    How ever do they manage to breathe for themselves without having to call tech support? - Argabarga

"actually Ma'm, it's REALITY, and depending on your next move, it may become a FELONY"