X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• If I would have known...

Hi Everyone!

Some Background, I work as a Helpdesk Tech/Field Tech at a local service provider. We installed a new Server for a client since their previous system was on its last legs and the backup tape drive did not work. They Also have a 10+ year old copier. Needless to say the copier's scan software did NOT run on the new system...

Client: I am unable to scan.

Me: The software does not support the new Server OS, your copier is long out of support and you will need to upgrade to a new unit.

Client: You need to fix it so I can scan, this copier is NOT that old!

Me: The unit is more than 10 years old, I'm sorry but the manufacturer no longer updates the software for this unit.

Client: Well if I would have known that it would break my scanner I would never have agreed to upgrade to the new Server!

So you would rather risk losing all your data, and a boatload of downtime and lost productivity just because you don't want to get a new copier? The same copier we have been warning you is not supported for the past 5 years!! Luckily my supervisor took my side and basically told them we do not consider decade old equipment when advising to protect and prevent data loss.

Quoth ML2000 View Post
    So you would rather risk losing all your data, and a boatload of downtime and lost productivity just because you don't want to get a new copier? The same copier we have been warning you is not supported for the past 5 years!! Luckily my supervisor took my side and basically told them we do not consider decade old equipment when advising to protect and prevent data loss.
    Upgrading costs money. Complaining costs nothing.
    The customer is not always right. Most of the time, the customer is a clueless moron. If this offends you, you are this moron.

Comment