This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Insurance Blues

I haven't been around in.....ages, so a career update is in order. I am now a Slave for a health insurance company. Pardon: My official Title is "Company Slave, Customer Service Advocate, <Certain Hospital> Account Champion, Uptrained Too Much Too Fast and Without a Pay Raise, Dedicated rep. I pretty much ONLY take calls from people who are insured through a health system employee plan.

Now, when I was working calls for just about every type of industry known to man, we had a wide range of SCs. In my dedicated accounts, we some more "basic types".

Type 1 (and bane of my existence) Doctors.
    I am very certain I could keep track of every call I take where the caller is an actual MD, PHD, DP, DC, or any other type of D. Why, you may ask? Because they are sure to drop this line at least once: "Look, I'm a doctor for <Insert Health System Name Here>. I know what I'm talking about." Listen here Mr. High'n'Mighty, you may have gone to medical school, but unless you are the only doctor in a very small practice, you have never even touched a patient's insurance card, a HICF, or a UB04, so you don't even know your end of insurance, let alone mine.

Type 2: The "And I'm adding ANOTHER hospital to the list of ones that I would rather die than be treated at".
    These are the ones that are such fine products of the 'Murican educational system, that you find yourself seriously debating how this person can possibly tie their own shoes in the morning. These are the ones that you spend 20 minutes simply explaining the basic concept of how insurance works to them before you can even begin answering their questions. I would love to say that this is mostly young people, but it's not.

Type 3: The "I don't like your answer so I'm going to ask for a supervisor."