This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• These people have driver's licenses?

I work as a parts clerk for a major truck work body manufacturer. What that means is that we take normal pickup beds off of trucks, and put larger, bulkier beds that have storage cabinets on the sides back on; these beds are very popular with contractors, plumbers, and pretty much anyone who has to carry tools around from jobsite to jobsite. My job is primarily phone sales, selling parts to people who call us looking to buy them.

We have something like 12 different models of truck bed, and a variety of options that can go on that don't change the model number. When people call in for parts, unless it's something small and universal (locks, hinge blocks, etc.), we want to know what model it is. This information is stored in two places: The sales receipt that the customer gets when they buy the truck or bed (which is usually lost within days of buying the truck); and a sticker that is placed on the interior wall of the driver's side front storage compartment. This sticker also contains other important information such as the key code for the truck bed's locks.

At least once a week, and usually more often than that, the following exchange occurs:

C: Customer
    M: Me

C: "Hi, I have one of your truck beds, and I need a yadda yadda."
    M: "Okay, I'll need to know what model your truck bed is to make sure that I get you the right yadda yadda."
    C: "Where do I find that?" (You should already know it, but...)
    M: "That information can be found on a sticker inside the driver's side front storage compartment."
    C: "Inside the glove compartment?"

I kid you not. That exact exchange happens far, far too often. I knew that I wouldn't be dealing with rocket scientists when I found out what the job entailed, but come on! In what truck is the glove compartment on the driver's side?

Occasionally, that exchange is followed by the following, as well: