This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Music?

I am looking for some good places to download music. I need some new stuff to listen to. What are your suggestions?

Also What are some suggestions for different bands. I like almost everything and I am open to new stuff too.

Right now my Ipod has:
    Thryce Wyked Wenches - a capella ren faire music
    BOWI - Celtic Music
    Def Leppard
    Chubby Checker
    Bad Company
    Weird AL
    Charlie Daniels Band
    So there's a variety.

I buy all my music downloads from Amazon.com. They have MP3 downloads without DRM.

Eric the Grey
    In memory of Dena - Don't Drink and Drive

Comment

What is DRM? I'm kinda new to all this downloading stuff.

Comment

Quoth Shpepper View Post
        What is DRM? I'm kinda new to all this downloading stuff.

Digital Rights Management. The purpose of it is to prevent people from copying the files and sharing them over the intenet, but in reality it tends to prevent people from using the music they purchase the way they want to.

A good example of this is iTunes. The music files you purchase from iTunes have DRM in them (or used to), which prevents you from playing them on anything except "authorized" devices (ie: ipods). If you have something except and ipod, the music is no good. The reality of DRM is that it prevents you from using the media you pay for the way you want to, and it doesn't even really prevent what it's designed to. Every form of DRM has been cracked within days or weeks of it being released. It only really irritates honest people.

If you get DRM free music, then you can do pretty much whatever you want. Play them on your computer, or your MP3 player (whatever brand) or a personal media center.

I'll step off my soapbox now.

Eric the Grey

Comment

I tend to still buy CD's so I can't help you much with downloads (although I agree, iTunes sucks!)