X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When management stuff up and blame me

Hey guys, long time no chat

I work at a place that makes spas.

It's the Head Office for most spa companys, and we get very busy.
    I'm in charge of getting spas out of the warehouse, chasing up payments from customers, and making sure everything goes smoothly with the despatch side of things.

I've only worked there for 3 weeks. I'm still learning, but I think i'm doing a good job, considering I was very much thrown into the deep end without much training. I'm a smart cookie, i'm catching on quickly

Because i'm new, spas haven't been moving out of the warehouse as quickly as they should be. We are getting overstocked very quickly, to the point where they are having to store spas outside - a big no no, especially in bad weather.

So the pressure is on me to quicken the pace, and get more spas out to customers and display centers, to free up room in the warehouse for new spas they are making.

I was given some a customer's contract that said their spa is not needed until early 2008. This is way too long to keep their spa for, and I was told to tell them they have to cancel, and let us know when they want their spa closer to when they actually need it, and we will re-build it.

So I reluctantly call them, knowing they might be annoyed. And I was right.

"What do you mean we have to cancel?? We bought a spa from you people, it's fully paid for, what kind of business makes customers cancel? The salesperson said it was okay!"

I told them that the particular salesperson they dealt with often says things he shouldn't (which is true - but I probably shouldn't have said that) - that just made them angrier. I said we still want their business, but we just need their permission to sell their spa and we will re-build them another one closer to when they need it. I also told them it needs to be in writing, they need to send in a letter.