Go Back   Customers Suck! > Community > Check it out!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

On the topic of building computers...
  #1  
Old 09-21-2018, 02:39 PM
mjr's Avatar
mjr mjr is offline
Area Manager
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,060
Default On the topic of building computers...

This should probably go under "Off Topic" or "Life Advice", but it has links, so I decided to put it here.

I think it's time to upgrade my Linux computer. So I started with a processor, then compatible motherboard and RAM.

Is a quad-core Intel i3 and 8GB of RAM sufficient to run my Ubuntu box quickly?

Right now, I have an AMD processor and about 2 GB of RAM, and while my machine runs, it's very sluggish.

Here are the components I selected:

Processor: https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16819117822
Motherboard: https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16813144115
RAM: https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820232193

Thoughts/Opinions?

I don't want to spend a ton of money on this.
__________________
Skilled programmers aren't cheap. Cheap programmers aren't skilled.

  #2  
Old 09-21-2018, 11:53 PM
csquared's Avatar
csquared csquared is offline
Loanshark IT
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the verge of Cumming... GA
Posts: 1,548
Default

8GB of ram should do good. That is what I have.

Get an SSD for your boot drive. I have a 128GB and a pair of mirrored 1TBs for my data. I can reboot my system, login and start an app in about 30 seconds. With a spinning disk, it takes about a 80 seconds.

I like the AMD processors. I dropped in an FX-8350, 8 core.
__________________
Life is too short to not eat popcorn.
Save the Ales!
Toys for Tots at Rooster's Cafe

  #3  
Old 09-23-2018, 10:21 PM
TheSHAD0W TheSHAD0W is offline
Area Manager
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,345
Default

The new AMD CPUs are *very* good, and the price is excellent. Consider a Ryzen 5. Also, go with an NVMe SSD rather than SATA, they're easily double the speed and the difference in price has dropped to where it doesn't make sense to do otherwise.

Edit: Here is a list of components I have collected for an upcoming build.

Last edited by TheSHAD0W; 09-23-2018 at 10:25 PM.

  #4  
Old 09-25-2018, 07:08 PM
Nunavut Pants's Avatar
Nunavut Pants Nunavut Pants is offline
Warning: He thinks he's funny.
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,113
Default

Quote:
Quoth csquared View Post
With a spinning disk ...
The preferred phrase is "spinning rust". Trust me, I know people who used to work for SanDisk, who just about invented SSDs.

(Explanation for those who don't get it: The magnetic medium that is on the surface of standard HDD disks is iron oxide. It's not exactly "rust" like you picture, but it is pretty closely related.)

  #5  
Old 09-25-2018, 09:49 PM
mjr's Avatar
mjr mjr is offline
Area Manager
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,060
Default

Ok, is there a way that I can transfer my OS and all my software and files from a "standard" hard drive to a SSD?

Asking for a friend. ;-)
__________________
Skilled programmers aren't cheap. Cheap programmers aren't skilled.

  #6  
Old 09-25-2018, 10:00 PM
EricKei's Avatar
EricKei EricKei is offline
The Hero CS Deserves
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wandering Greyhawk
Posts: 10,055
Default

You might not want to transfer anything but the OS itself, unless your HDD is so old that it's actually the same size or smaller than the SSD you're getting. You are likely better off just reinstalling the OS (and if it's win10, it doesn't take long anyway) and then your important, updated programs. Keep the old drive (unless it's starting to show its age) for the other data until you can replace it with a newer one.
__________________
Acts of Gord – Read it, Learn it, Love it!
"Our psychic powers only work if the customer has a mind to read" - me
"Never assume your users are stupid, but never forget that they are." ~ anon. engineer
“Last night, you were unhinged. You were like some desperate, howling demon. You frightened me. Do it again.” - Morticia Addams

"Sexual intellectuals. They're f@%#ing know-it-alls" - Chuck Yeager
"Good men don't need rules; today is not the day to find out why I have so many." - The Doctor
"[Friendship,] like philosophy, like art, like the universe itself … has no survival value; rather it is one of those things which give value to survival.” ~ C. S. Lewis


  #7  
Old 09-26-2018, 02:44 PM
lordlundar's Avatar
lordlundar lordlundar is offline
The Evil Bastard
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,758
Default

Agreed. The rule is unless you're replacing ONLY the HDD, then an OS rebuild is the best approach. The reason for this anything else that gets changed causes issues with the OS registry and it spazes out until it can fix the issue. This is a particular issue with Windows OSes as after a certain number of changes it will lock you out. (This was particularly notable with XP when the tracker first came out. It's not nearly as big an issue nowadays but it can still come up.)

If all you're doing is replacing the HDD, there are tools that will do a one-to one copy. The process is called "mirroring" and there are a number of tools to do so. Just search for "HDD mirroring software" and pick one you like. Just remember that it is making a copy, so you'll need to have the space available to do this. Once you confirmed the copy is good, just scrub the old HDD.
__________________
I AM the evil bastard!
A+ Certified IT Technician

  #8  
Old 09-26-2018, 06:06 PM
mjr's Avatar
mjr mjr is offline
Area Manager
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,060
Default

Quote:
Quoth lordlundar View Post
If all you're doing is replacing the HDD, there are tools that will do a one-to one copy. The process is called "mirroring" and there are a number of tools to do so. Just search for "HDD mirroring software" and pick one you like. Just remember that it is making a copy, so you'll need to have the space available to do this. Once you confirmed the copy is good, just scrub the old HDD.
The machine I'm talking about is an Ubuntu Linux computer. I'd like to keep all my files, so would mirroring software work from a "standard" platter drive to a Solid State drive?

Right now my "main" hard drive on that machine is a 500GB platter drive. I have a 3TB drive installed on that machine also that I use for storing a bunch of files.

So basically, could mirroring software take everything from my 500GB drive, and put it onto a SSD?

Because if that's the case, then I could potentially "wipe" the 500GB drive and use it for storage, too.
__________________
Skilled programmers aren't cheap. Cheap programmers aren't skilled.

Last edited by EricKei; 09-26-2018 at 07:36 PM.

  #9  
Old 09-26-2018, 07:38 PM
EricKei's Avatar
EricKei EricKei is offline
The Hero CS Deserves
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wandering Greyhawk
Posts: 10,055
Default

Keep in mind that mirroring/ghosting means moving all of the drive's contents or none of it; the destination drive must be the same size as the source or larger (even if the old one isn't full). Also, there may be some issues moving from an HDD to an SDD due to differences in how they store data (AFAIK mirroring is just that -- literally a bit-for-bit copy of the drive, including any fragmentation or bad sectors (if any)), but I'll leave that one to folks more knowledgeable about SSD's ^_^
__________________
Acts of Gord – Read it, Learn it, Love it!
"Our psychic powers only work if the customer has a mind to read" - me
"Never assume your users are stupid, but never forget that they are." ~ anon. engineer
“Last night, you were unhinged. You were like some desperate, howling demon. You frightened me. Do it again.” - Morticia Addams

"Sexual intellectuals. They're f@%#ing know-it-alls" - Chuck Yeager
"Good men don't need rules; today is not the day to find out why I have so many." - The Doctor
"[Friendship,] like philosophy, like art, like the universe itself … has no survival value; rather it is one of those things which give value to survival.” ~ C. S. Lewis


  #10  
Old 09-27-2018, 03:12 AM
csquared's Avatar
csquared csquared is offline
Loanshark IT
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the verge of Cumming... GA
Posts: 1,548
Default

You add the hdd as a second drive and mount the relevant partions.
__________________
Life is too short to not eat popcorn.
Save the Ales!
Toys for Tots at Rooster's Cafe
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.