This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Freebies -- never a good idea

Because I'm particularly dense tonight, this started out in the wrong section ... but I've fixed that. I think.

As I've mentioned before, I work in a store that offers (among other things) a wide variety of loose-leaf teas. We also have samples of our teas going -- usually at least half a dozen at any given time, some in huge insulated containers, others in smaller containers.

You can probably see where this is going.

It leads to two particular types of SC.

1) The types who run in two minutes before closing and go "No samples left??" No, because we've got enough to do in closing without leaving the samples up right to the last possible minute. We've been here for, I dunno, eight or ten hours! Where the fuck have YOU been all that time?? (Also, the people who do this tend to be the people who never actually buy anything, so yeah, our sympathy for you is pretty much non-existent.)

2) The sample cups hold maybe an ounce or two of tea. They are intended for people to SAMPLE. Nonetheless, we get lots of people (mostly but not always kids) who fill the damn cup right up to the brim (I always have to stifle a laugh when they then slop the tea all down their front). Some will then turn to us and say, "You need bigger cups!" No, YOU need to put a damn crowbar in your wallet and BUY a full-sized drink.

I'd like to see management do away entirely with the samples for a month or two and see if it actually made any difference in our sales figures. Yeah, and when that happens, I'll win the lottery too.
    Customer service: More efficient than a Dementor's kiss
    ~ Mr Hero

I think I'm one of the rare living proofs of a sample making a sale. I suspect the brand you work at is where I (used to) shop, and there was a winterberry that I never would have bought...but when I tried the sample, I was all O.o GIMMEH! and bought half a pound.

Comment