This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 9 months of driving a cab

As I mentioned elsewhere, I've been driving a cab for about 9 months now. I live in the Phoenix, Arizona (USA) area, one of the largest metropolitan areas in the country. (According to Wikipedia, we're #14 (or perhaps #12 or even #6) in terms of population, and while I can't find a comparison list by area, at more than 16,000 square miles, it's pretty damn big.) A typical day will see me drive around 250 miles in a 24-hour period. (I drive for up to 14 hours at a stretch, which is the company's safety limit, and maybe the legal limit as well.)

During my time driving a cab, I've enjoyed it quite a bit. Much to my surprise, I've had very few truly sucky customers. Rather than post individually about them, I'll just lump them together into one big post. (Don't expect any later posts of mine to be anywhere near this long; SC's are few and far between... thank god.)

Anger-making

One night (several months ago) I got called to a bar, a very common thing. My passengers were a couple of drunk guys. (The "drunk" part makes me happy; drunks tend to tip well.)

Pretty much the instant I get the cab moving, they start arguing. Loudly. I can take a lot, but a lovers' quarrel at full volume 2 or 3 feet behind my head... not so much. It got to the point where I finally pulled over.

Me: your rapidly-getting-angry taxi driver
    AD: Angry Drunk

Me: That's enough, get out.
    AD: But this isn't where we told you!
    Me: I don't care, get out!
    AD: Well, we're not paying for this!
    Me: I DON'T WANT YOUR GODDAMNED MONEY, GET OUT OF MY CAB!!!

At this point, the other drunk realized that they had pushed things too far. He managed to drag his boyfriend out and dropped a twenty on the seat. (Considering the meter only read maybe $15 at the time, not so bad.)

I don't need a tip that badly