Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anybody here understand credit ratings??

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anybody here understand credit ratings??

I've started paying off my debts and my credit score has DROPPED. It's gone from moderately good to poor! WTF?!
    Customer service: More efficient than a Dementor's kiss
    ~ Mr Hero

Very little about credit scores make any objective sense. Just having your report run causes the score to drop, which is utter bullshit.
    "We guard the souls in heaven; we don't horse-trade them!" Samandrial in Supernatural

RIP Plaidman.

Comment

What, so if I go online to check my own credit score, it can cause it to drop??
      ~ Mr Hero

Comment

I'm not an expert, but I've been watching the report that Capital One shows me each month and it's strange. It seems like it takes a while for something to impact the score. Like, mine went from Good to Average due to an inquiry, but like 2-3 months after it happened even though the report showed the inquiry the month it happened. Have you closed any accounts, or opened a bunch of accounts all at once?

You checking your own credit shouldn't affect the score, I hope!
        Replace anger management with stupidity management.

Comment

As someone who has been keeping an eye on his own in the past few years, here's what I can tell you (all IIRC):

- Self-inquiries do NOT affect your score in any way (this includes the yearly FREE report from each company -- do NOT sign up for their "monitoring services" or anything else that requires payment)

- "Soft" inquiries should have no effect, or a miniscule one. Not entirely sure what these include.

- "Hard" inquiries (e.g. applying for a loan or credit card) DO drop your score a bit for a few months, moreso if you have more than 3(?) on the books at a time

Certain other things that affect the score:

- Length of credit history (the longer the better, generally)