This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Girly girls - I need yur halp!

Foundation! I need help with make up! I'm relatively new to it and I really want to make sure I know what I'm doing when it comes to foundation.

A few things to note - I have rather oily skin and acne. I want to know what kind of foundation or brand would be best for my skin type. Also I've heard people say that they use a liquid base and then "set" the foundation with a powder. What exactly does that mean? Is it necessary?

I'm self-taught, so I'm probably doing it wrong. When my skin is oily: I wash, tone and moisturise a few hours beforehand, then slap a liquid foundation over. Any imperfections are covered with a liquid concealer, blended in with fingertips, allowed to dry and then I gently add another layer of foundation if it's needed. Remember to blend in at the hairline and under the chin. For me, this lasts a full day and part of a night with minimal touch-ups.

I have very sensitive skin and tend to breakout in pimple and hives if I use anything with parabens, so I check the labels carefully. The brand I'm currently using is 'Face of Australia'
    Don't tempt pixies, it never ends well.

Avatar created by the lovely Eisa.

Comment

I buy mica and iron oxides online and mix into my moisturizer to make a tinted moisturizer. I have oily skin--yay, no wrinkles--but Yes to Carrots works for me. It has oils, but doesn't break me out. I include titanium dioxide in my pigment mix because it helps with staying power and screens out sun. I also blend my own colored face powder using the pigments and white mica and a bit of cornstarch. I take that with me. But for setting in the morning I use a fluffy brush and clear powder. E.L.F. makes one. It's about six bucks and no parabens. It looks white, but goes on clear. It's amazing. It makes my pores look smaller. If you wear nothing else, at least use the clear powder.