Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Wherein I swoop in like Batman on the worst type of SC.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wherein I swoop in like Batman on the worst type of SC.

I was in my local grocery superstore. I worked in retail for plenty long enough to know that any theft is directly a cause for increased prices. I hate shoplifters with a burning passion. They are stealing from the wallets of everyone that shops at that store.

Anyway, I spot a kid looking at movies that shoves something in his pants. I push my cart up that aisle and see a couple movies that are sliced open. He was pulling them open and removing the disk only.

A quick stroll up to the greeter and I inform them of what the kid is doing. The greeter phones security to get the eye on the sky on it. I tell the greeter that I will walk near him so they can spot him. The greeter sadly tells me that unless they watch the kid steal something they can not bust him.

My Batman sense of justice kicks in, and the little hamster on the wheel in my brain starts running.

I walk up to the kid who is reading a magazine.

I stealthily say “hey, I saw you swipe a couple movies back there..”
    He cut me off with “You work for security, you can’t bust me because it is not stealing until I leave the store.”
    I said “No, I don’t work for the store, I just think it was tricky how you swiped the movie. Show me how you did it.”
    Him “No, you work for the store.”
    Me “No I don’t. If I worked for the store and I told you to steal a movie then that would be entrapment and you would get away with it. I just want to see how you stole it.”
    Kid “ahh…good point. Here, let me show you.”