X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Would this actually work?

I have a Life Hacks 2016 desk calendar. Today's tip from it:

"Hungry and want a ride home? Go to the local pizza shop, order a pizza to your house, and get a ride home with the driver."

Mind you, I would never do this. Little Caesar's is cheaper.
    Knowledge is power. Power corrupts. Study hard. Be evil.

"I never said I wasn't a horrible person."--Me, almost daily

Depends on the stores insurance policies. We would have done it at the stores I managed for a good tip.

Comment

Home 30 mins or less!
      Just sliding down the razor blade of life.

Comment

I did not allow riders in my vehicles when I was a pizza driver, so no, this 'life hack' wouldn't have worked with me.

The paranoid part of me says 'Danger, Will Robinson!'. First of all, it's glorified hitch hiking - and one only needs to think of all the reasons you're not supposed to pick up hitch hikers to understand what a bad, bad idea this is. What if your rider is planning a robbery? A carjacking? What if you're being led into an ambush? What if that individual is FLEEING a crime scene? You're also left wide-open to threats to accuse you of a crime unless you hand over all your money and valuables - a variation on an old hitch-hiking trap.

Secondly, depending on the insurance and company policy, you might be forbidden to carry passengers anyway. Suppose the rider gets injured? Will YOUR insurance cover it? Probably not.

And in my case, there was a very practical third reason - my delivery vehicle was a small pickup truck. There wasn't room for a passenger AND the hot box/hot bag.

Comment

I've seen that thrown out there a couple of times. I've never been a delivery driver, but there is no way in hell that I would drive someone home. I would be scared of being assaulted or robbed. Or sued, if I were in an accident and the passenger was injured.

Comment