X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bossman is Hinting at Firing Me: THE UPDATE

Hey everyone.

So I've drafted an email to my boss, outlining what I think are my problem areas and what I plan to do about them. I'd like your feedback before I send it to him. I've not altered anything except his name. Otherwise what I will send will be exactly this:

Dear <Bossman>

Thank you for being more patient with me than I think I would be with me if I were in your position. I know you know I want to be good at my job, and to provide 10-level service to both our guests and co-workers. In order to demonstrate my commitment (and to help get my thoughts in order) I've listed what I believe, based on my own observation and your feedback, to be my major issues and how I plan to address them. If I have ommitted anything, or you have any other feedback for me, I'm always willing to listen.

Thanks.

How I speak to guests:
    • Speak to all guests -- in person or on the phone --with the same respect I'd show my grandmother
    • Resolve guest issues according to the HEART paradigm (Hear, Empathize, Apologize, Resolve, and Thank), with special emphasis on the fact that Speculation, Excuses, and Blaming (of people or technology) are NOT part of the HEART paradigm.
    • Own issues by taking responsibility for solving the problem myself if I possibly can, and promising the guest a call-back if I do need to speak to management, rather than handing the problem over to a manager.

Cash Handling
    • Count the drawer at the beginning of my shift, at a mid-point, and at the end (Dan suggested this)
    • Wait for the person relieving me to verify my drop and the drawer count before I leave (on my write-up, this is now possible due to changes in bus schedules)
    • Periodically check my drop during down time

Careless mistakes (a feature of ADHD)