Go Back   Customers Suck! > The Heart of the Site > Unsupportable > Tech help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Major FF memory leak problems
  #1  
Old 06-12-2019, 02:21 AM
Dreamstalker's Avatar
Dreamstalker Dreamstalker is offline
Philosophical Tomato
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Not where I think I am
Posts: 5,074
Default Major FF memory leak problems

My desktop is a homebuilt running Win7. Starting a few days ago, I've been getting an error popup saying that "Your computer is running low on memory" and to close a program--always Firefox (sometimes even before I've started it).

FF is up-to-date that I know of (64-bit version, I think the newest is 67-something). The max number of tabs I have open right now is 3, and Task Manager shows 7 instances.

I run regular virus/spyware scans, just ran them yesterday. Has anyone else heard of this particular issue?
__________________
"I am quite confident that I do exist."
"Excuse me, I'm making perfect sense. You're just not keeping up." The Doctor
Reply With Quote

  #2  
Old 06-12-2019, 02:37 AM
TheSHAD0W TheSHAD0W is offline
Area Manager
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,277
Default

Try manually updating it. There may also be plugins which need updating.

What CPU does your machine have? The various spectre/meltdown mitigations have been slowing things down more and more with every update, and the older your CPU the more apply... (I'm still using a 1st generation i7 and it's getting intolerable.)
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-12-2019, 02:47 AM
Dreamstalker's Avatar
Dreamstalker Dreamstalker is offline
Philosophical Tomato
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Not where I think I am
Posts: 5,074
Default

My CPU is an AMD; FX6300 Vishera core. I've also noticed that one of my hard drives (I have one SSD and one HDD) occasionally gets noisier than usual on occasion. I haven't been able to connect it to the errors/crashes.

Windows patches are a minor headache; it always wants to download/install 10 first and if that particular KB is aborted or skipped none of the others will successfully install.
__________________
"I am quite confident that I do exist."
"Excuse me, I'm making perfect sense. You're just not keeping up." The Doctor
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-12-2019, 06:11 AM
SteeleDragon78's Avatar
SteeleDragon78 SteeleDragon78 is offline
Newly minted cs BOFH
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: the end of the trail in oklahoma
Posts: 542
Default

I have noticed that FF is hogging more ram in the last few updates. sometime around version 50 it started eating more ram for the extensions that i run (lastpass and ublock origin). they did change how the extensions work, i think they rewrote the API for them, to make them more secure. you might try turning off any extensions you have and then turning them each on to see if this is your issue.
__________________
This is a drama-free zone; violators will be slapped. -Irving Patrick Freleigh
my blog:http://steeledragon.wordpress.com/
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-12-2019, 10:54 AM
EricKei's Avatar
EricKei EricKei is offline
The Hero CS Deserves
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wandering Greyhawk
Posts: 9,774
Default

All I rally know about the issue is that FF has been a notorious memory hog for ages. Hadn't heard of it being THAT bad, tho o_O
__________________
"Target the reavers -- Target the reavers! Target everyone! SOMEBODY, FIRE!" - The Operative, "Serenity" (2005)
"[Friendship,] like philosophy, like art, like the universe itself has no survival value; rather it is one of those things which give value to survival. ~ C. S. Lewis
"French is my favorite ... Especially to curse with ... It's like wiping your arse with silk. I love it." The Merovingian, "The Matrix: Reloaded"
"Customers are like van gogh. They intentionally remove their ears when it suits them." TheDangOofMan, Reddit
"Logic: sometimes it's not a thing." - Food Lady

Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 06-12-2019, 07:16 PM
Buzzard Buzzard is offline
Store Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 603
Default

I'm up to 11 processes for FF, but I have over 100 tabs open continuously. (Yes, really. And I know, "Holy ") I'm running about 4GB of RAM for the whole mess right now. Some pages tend to be less memory friendly than others. FaceBook, and those clickbait sites tend to be some of the worst offenders in that regard.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 06-13-2019, 03:12 AM
EricKei's Avatar
EricKei EricKei is offline
The Hero CS Deserves
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wandering Greyhawk
Posts: 9,774
Default

Buzzard - That's nothing. Friend of mine used to a) insist on keeping 3~400 tabs open all at once on FF, but b) refused to even consider looking for an extension that could keep track of and re-open them all case of a crash or simply closing the browser. This was in the Win 7~8 days (we do not speak of V!), I dunno if it had automatic "Restore last session" up and properly running back then. As a result, he simply never rebooted nor shut down his laptop for any reason...and also complained to me that it was really damn slow. Geez I wonder why? >__<
__________________
"Target the reavers -- Target the reavers! Target everyone! SOMEBODY, FIRE!" - The Operative, "Serenity" (2005)
"[Friendship,] like philosophy, like art, like the universe itself has no survival value; rather it is one of those things which give value to survival. ~ C. S. Lewis
"French is my favorite ... Especially to curse with ... It's like wiping your arse with silk. I love it." The Merovingian, "The Matrix: Reloaded"
"Customers are like van gogh. They intentionally remove their ears when it suits them." TheDangOofMan, Reddit
"Logic: sometimes it's not a thing." - Food Lady

Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 06-13-2019, 02:06 PM
Zeddi's Avatar
Zeddi Zeddi is offline
Cashier
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Germany, near Bremen
Posts: 30
Default

Firefox needs alot of ram today, it depends alot what sites a open.
A static, pure-html page might add a few megabytes to the "core" of firefox.
A 3D-Planner might need a few gigabytes of ram on the other hand.

You might want to concider upgrading to 10, as 7 support will drop next february.
Upgrading is free, even much slower core2duo machines run better with 10.
__________________
Native German, so my writing might be a bit ... special. I try my best to get better
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 06-13-2019, 03:55 PM
TheSHAD0W TheSHAD0W is offline
Area Manager
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,277
Default

Quote:
Quoth Zeddi View Post
You might want to concider upgrading to 10, as 7 support will drop next february.
When W7 support drops I plan to upgrade all the way to linux. :-P
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 06-14-2019, 12:45 AM
Dreamstalker's Avatar
Dreamstalker Dreamstalker is offline
Philosophical Tomato
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Not where I think I am
Posts: 5,074
Default

Eric, my mom is having a similar problem (she keeps her laptop on 24/7 which it was not designed for, which I think is part of the reason for her slowdowns/crashes). Despite my constant objections and evidence that it is causing problems, she will have up to 30 tabs open at once. Non-issue on a desktop, but...this is a laptop which I have to go behind her back to do updates on. If something tries to update while she's using it she will abort the process because "that popup is annoying".

I managed to get her onto Win7, but have gone "on record" as needing to charge my full rate for support if she wants to keep it once official support is dropped (ie, not learn Linux) due to the complexities of applying any future patches.
__________________
"I am quite confident that I do exist."
"Excuse me, I'm making perfect sense. You're just not keeping up." The Doctor

Last edited by Dreamstalker; 06-14-2019 at 12:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.