This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Was the girl on the register sucky?

I went to local supermarket yesterday. This is one of the big two here in Australia and it's the one that does not start with a "W".

So I'm in the line that says "12 items or less" and there is about 4 customers in front of me. The line stopped moving so I stopped looking at the rest of the store and paid attention to the cashier. She was missing from her register and was at the returns counter dealing with one of several customers there while 5 of us waited in line.

I considered just dropping my stuff and walking out. I have done that previously when I was ignored by a girl in another Mart that starts with a "K". This time I really wanted what I had and it was miles to another supermarket. I took one step to the right and walked into a self-serve area and scanned my items myself. I managed to work the self scanner even though I have never done it before.

Was the cashier sucky for leaving us to look after the returns counter? There was already some girls working there.

It really depends on whether or not she had to be there. Sometimes I've had to make a mad dash from my register to returns to show a new hire (that the managers INSISTED could do the job), how to do a basic return for cash. It sucked for the people waiting, and I did sympathies with them, but between me having a line of four or five that I can breeze through in under ten minutes, or a newbie losing their head over a returns desk problem, I'll help the newbie every time.

If anyone's sucky here, it's probably the store management, since they seem to not have rostered enough people on the manage the lines.
    Last edited by Peppergirl; 02-03-2015, 08:56 AM. Reason: Quoted deleted post, and should not have, as it was against the FTSTS rule
    Patient has severely impacted cranial rectosis. There's probably no cure. - Overheard in ER

Comment