This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Self evaluations and goal setting...

Kinda long...the crux of the matter is in red, if you don't want to read all the other stuff.

So, I have been in my new job for about 2 months (half-days or less for most of December, and full time since December 27). So I'm still learning. Review time comes up in April at my company, which means I will have to do my self-evaluation in the next month or so. My boss told me he wants me to think about goals for 2008 (both short- and long-term). I hate self-evaluations. I don't know what I want to be when I grow up. The short-term things are easier, since there's a lot of stuff I need to learn, but the long-term is harder.

I know I posted about my job a few times but I'm not sure I really explained what it is I do. (Well, I'm pretty sure I didn't since I don't really know how to explain it).

My title is Merchandise Control Analyst (for B&N Distribution). It is in the Finance department (but not the accounts payable/receivable or accounting side of things. My actual department is only 4 people, including my boss).

The job description I got, which, admittedly, isn't that enlightening:

A. Purpose of Position:
    To provide reporting/analysis to manage the day to day operations of the distribution center

B. Accountabilities:
    The position is accountable for providing accurate and timely reporting and analysis for the Director of Merchandise Control and his/her designates.

C. Major or Unusual Problems:
    A breadth of knowledge of distribution center operations is required to be successful in this role. The working environment is fast paced and ever-changing. The ability to manage multiple assignments is a must.