This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Did you talk like a pirate?

I meant to post this and almost forgot to. At work, my department and I were having a lot of fun with the Talk Like A Pirate thing Tuesday. I referred to my boss as "Cap'n" all day and instead of agreeing with people, I'd say "Aye, me hearty" or just "Arrrgh" when they asked if I could make a change on something for them. This very young guy who is half my age sits on the other side of my cube wall, and I could hear him on the phone to someone:

"Yeah, you ought to hear these people. Jesus, they've gone nuts." (insert random "Arrrgh" from someone) "See? Did you hear that? Well, it's Talk Like A Pirate Day. No, its a real thing, evidently."

I work as an artist, and I was making something for him that he needed some changes made on. Here is the exchange:

Sent: Tuesday, September 19, 2006 3:45 PM
    To: Recovering Kinkoid
    Subject: RE: your logos

This is good for the second version, just need to change the text. What color is the text - it's hard to tell?

Sent: Tuesday, September 19, 2006 3:48 PM
    To: Young Guy
    Subject: RE: your logos

Beats the hell out of me, matey. I beheld the map you gave me and it pointed me in the direction of “brown.” Arrrggg. So, I’m following it true to the treasure. Brown, it is. Indeed, argh, arrrrgh.

Let me be fixin’ the words for ya and then hopefully we be done. Otherwise, it’s a maroonin’ for you. Or sharks. Haven’t had a good keel haulin’ or beating here in a while, so we be due. So beware, poppet. Beware.

Arrrrrgh.

He thought this was pretty funny.

thats one of the few holidays i wish i could work on even if its not official
    that would be soooo much fun! especially because pirates 2 is still out in my theater

Comment

It does make for a fun work day. I meant to wear my swashbuckling hat, but forgot.