This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Grocery SCs

I love reading this site and am finally getting around to posting something.

I had an especially "interesting" night yesterday.

I work as a cashier and one of the things that puzzles me is the customers (not SCs exactly) who see that your light is off, that there is no one in your line, that the other lines have 3+ people in them and still ask if you are open. I always want to say something along the lines of, "Yes, you're right-I just turned my light off in hopes that no one would realize I was actually open. So far, it's been working, but you were just too clever to be fooled."

The reason why I am actually posting is because I had two obnoxious customers, along with the usual SC's, come through last night.

The first one came up as I was getting ready to go to break and asked if I could check him out. I explained that my line was closed, but, of course, this particular customer was not to be turned away because of that. He started asking if it was "against store policy" for someone to be checked out after a line was closed. I can only imagine that he was heading to some form of "it isn't against store policy so you should check me out", however, I sidestepped that by gesturing to the other express line that had 5 or so customers lined up and stating that it wouldn't be fair to them to check him out. I don't think he understood but he eventually grasped that I wasn't going to check him out and left.