This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I've been denied financial aid

As most of you know, I graduated with my associates in May. My next move, which I have already enrolled, was set to start in August. I was set to work on my bachelors in psychology. You have to have a bachelors before you move onto masters level.

Everything was set. Schedule made, orientation attended, financial aid awarded...or so I thought. The government okayed me for it - as I have not yet hit my undergraduate monetary limit. However, I received a letter yesterday informing me that the school has denied my financial assistance because I have too many undergraduate credit hours.

I was crushed!!! This is my future! This is also my fault! I had absolutely no direction when I started attending school and I took many classes to see where my interests lay.

I can appeal this decision. I have to do so in writing. I thought I'd share the letter with you guys to get your thoughts and opinions. I have to explain why I have so many credit hours and how I can ensure that I have a plan if my aid is reinstated. I started with a rough draft. I had a friend who is very well spoken read it for me and this version I'm posting is how he took my words and stated them more eloquently then I had.

I am writing this letter today because I was recently denied financial aid, due to the fact I have too many undergraduate credit hours. I was told that I could appeal this decision by writing you.