PDA

View Full Version : Email


Crazyredhead
04-24-2007, 12:01 AM
I received an email from Microsoft (supposedly). How do I find out if it is legit. I cannot tell if this is bogus or not. I know that there are more knowledgeable email people out there. This would be cool if it were true, I have had it for awhile trying to figure it out.

Microsoft Award Team
20 Craven Park, Harlesden London NW10,
United Kingdom.
Ref: BTD/976/06
Batch: 401978G

Dear Lucky winner,
WINNING NOTIFICATION!!!
The prestigious Microsoft and AOL has set out and successfully
organized a Sweeps takes marking the beginning of year anniversary
we rolled out over 1,000, 000.00 (One Million Great Britain Pounds)
for our beginning of year Anniversary Draws.

Microsoft and AOL are now the largest Internet companies and in an
effort to make sure that Internet Explorer remains the most widely used
program Microsoft and AOL are running an e-mail beta test.

The selection was made through a computer draw system attaching
personalized email addresses to ticket numbers. Your email address as
indicated was drawn and attached to ticket numbers 008995727495 with
serial numbers SBTD/9080648302/06 and drew the lucky numbers
14-21-25-40-40-47(21) which subsequently won you 1,000, 000.00 (One
Million Great Britain Pounds) as one of the jackpot lucky winners in
this draw.

The draws registered as Draw number one was conducted in Brockley,
London United Kingdom on the 10th, March,2007. These Draws are
commemorative and as such special. Please be informed by this winning
notification,to file for your claims.

Am also using this medium to inform you that, your Original Certificate and
your Certified bank cheque e.t.c has be forwarded to our affiliate courier company
(E-COURIER DELIVERY OFFICE LTD reg.no 653425).

You are advised to send an email to the courier company`s e-mail address
(above) regarding your winnings claims, and for their courier delivery cost.

When contacting them, you are to include this order number (below) as
your subject. Please you are advised to write down the order number and
save it for future reference.

ORDER NUMBER: CCL/KNL/2851110. You are to Quote your (1)Full Name
(2)Nationality: (3)Residential Address: (4)Date of Birth (5)Sex(6)Tel
Numbers: (7)Fax Numbers: (8)Occupation: (9)Batch Numbers
(10)Reference:(11)Marital Status:, for verification before transfer,
and to enable them honor your letter. Find below the contact of the
courier company e-COURIER DELIVERY OFFICE L T D.

E-COURIER DELIVERY OFFICE LTD
101 Whitfield Street London W1T 2RJ England
Tom Smith (Dispatch Officer)
Email:e.courierservice@yahoo.co.uk
Tel: +447045713531
+447024015262
+447045719572
Fax:+448709741952

Sincerely,
Mr. Olivia Holland
Head Customer care Service
Microsoft Award Team Promotion


_______________________________________
No viruses found in incoming message
Scanned by iolo AntiVirus® 1.1.8.4
http://www.iolo.com

CurlyLocks
04-24-2007, 04:57 AM
The whole thing is doubtful on every front. If you look at it carefully it's poorly written, as though by someone for whom English isn't a first language. And I would think that something of this nature would be a huge story on the web and even the mainstream media would report on something like this. Same old story - if it sounds to good to be true, it usually is. :(

Der Cute
04-24-2007, 05:33 AM
What email client do you use....Outlook *full* or OE?

Do you know how to find the headers on an email?

In outlook, right click message, goto options...and in popup box there's a bunch of funny looking text in bottom.

Look for IP addresses and Sender Domain info.
You can see by this where it's from and to...and a lot of times, you can tell by domain name its bogus.

Cutenoob

Rapscallion
04-24-2007, 06:17 AM
The whole thing is doubtful on every front. If you look at it carefully it's poorly written, as though by someone for whom English isn't a first language.

Considering some of the emails I get at work, if English is someone's first language then this email is considerably better than them.

Back to the original topic, though - the golden rule to bear in mind is that if it sounds too good to be true, it is.

Rapscallion

Talon
04-24-2007, 01:48 PM
Last time I checked M$ and AOHell were competitors, and AOHell was a sponsor of Netscape. They use a yahoo account, not some corporate domain?

I don't think so.

Cia
04-24-2007, 03:56 PM
It is also illegal for a US citizen to participate in a foreign lottery.

If you can't remember entering in a lottery than it isn't real.

digilight
04-24-2007, 03:59 PM
Its a big steaming pile of BS. Its a pure fraud. Probably originating in a boiler room in Lagos Nigeria. Sounds like the begining of a 411 scheme, they get your info (including fax, email, and phone as well as personal info) then they try and get your bank account info. They will pumel you into trying to get money out of you.

For more info on scams and scammer methods check out http://thescambaiter.com/forum/ These guys know all the methods and try and torture scammers.

NightAngel
04-24-2007, 05:31 PM
It's bull- I get tons of those flipping things. If I actually won every lottery from *Insert Random British Company/Gov't Agency* that I get in my Inbox I'd be a bizzillionaire.

It almost makes me miss the porn spam... at least it was funny.
:rolleyes:

Crazyredhead
04-24-2007, 07:21 PM
What email client do you use....

Mozilla Thunderbird.

BTW, thanks guys and gals. I don't reply to these emails but this one raised my hackles. I am also getting swamped with dozens of job offers, I just delete them.