X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dr. Oz, first aid on seizures

Hi everyone.

This is Cutenoob, and I'm asking for people to please watch this clip - as it is the correct way to deal with seizures and epilepsy.

I've been banging my head against a wall for 20+ years about the "swallow tongue" theory of a seizure - and I'm tired of that myth still being populated.

Even if you don't know anyone with epilepsy, remember this: 10% of American population has epilepsy. Statistically, one in ten. You may run into someone having a seizure in a grocery store. This is what to do.

And also: epilepsy isnt the only cause for having a seizure. Diabetic shock, drug overdose, drug reaction, fever...

Thanks.

http://www.doctoroz.com/videos/seizure-first-aid

Cutenoob
    In my heart, in my soul, I'm a woman for rock & roll.
    She's as fast as slugs on barbituates.

Shows me what I know.

Although to my own credit, I knew the most important thing, keeping people from harming themselves on their surroundings. The only times I witnessed someone having a seizure, the first, I wasn't in a position to know or do anything about it (the restaurant I worked for called 911 and really pissed the guy off) and the second, I was on hand to keep him from hitting his head against the concrete, which I guess helped.

I would have called 911 on both counts, but I was skeptical about the whole swallowing of the tongue bit. He didn't address biting the tongue however. Are you not suppose to find something to keep the patient from biting their tongue?

Eric the Grey
    In memory of Dena - Don't Drink and Drive

Comment

Quoth Eric the Grey View Post
      He didn't address biting the tongue however. Are you not suppose to find something to keep the patient from biting their tongue?
      Putting anything in their mouth while they're seizing could cause more damage than potentially biting their tongue.

Comment