Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm not even sure where to start but this is.. bad. For me.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm not even sure where to start but this is.. bad. For me.

So a few months ago, I was at a job I loathed. My manager was causing me so much stress that I was going home crying and had to increase my anxiety medicine. My last week there, my stomach was twisting and I felt sick all the time. When I was a manager, my employees complained that I was nitpicking them to death. I finally know what they meant. Every single thing I did was always wrong. He didn't like the way I wrote, the way I answered the phone, the way I took messages, etc. You see, he was a first time manager at 29 years old. I tried to work it out with him and HR many times over the month and a half I was there.

At one point, I had changed my blood pressure medicine and had to take benadryl because someone was smoking pot (I'm extremely allergic to the point my throat starts to close). I didn't realize that it would have such a drastic reaction, and I started getting confused and my reactions were slowing. My blood pressure crashed on the way home and I nearly ended up in the hospital. I told my manager and apologized. The next day I was confronted by HR and by my manager. It could have stayed as a conversation. Instead, my manager chose to tell me off after the conversation via email.

Finally one day he printed out a certificate he had received from head office for his "excellent work", and left it on my desk for me to see.

And I just broke. I started crying, walked into HR and handed in my keys. HR convinced me to talk to the GM so I threw my manager under the bus. Including all the missing contracts, signatures, and cc authorizations in the file cabinet in the office. I don't know what happened after that.