This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please be joking.

OK, for those who aren't aware, I now work as a relay operator. Basic gist of the job, deaf person types to us, we repeat to hearing user, hearing user speaks to us, we type to deaf user. The same premise can be used for automated menus. Anyway, last night I had this gem.

Going through an automated menu, I typed out the entire menu, at the end it said "to repeat this menu, please press 9"... the deaf user, who had the entire text transcript of what had been said, asked me to please press 9 for him
    I have seen both sides of our software, and I know that their side keeps the transcript of the entire conversation until the session is closed... how can you need something repeated
    If you wish to find meaning, listen to the music not the song

Quoth KaySquirrel View Post
    Otherwise I'm too! Any chance they could have been using a TTY/TDD machine that didn't use your software?
    not possible, the only three ways to use our service is using our mobile software on a smartphone, using our software on a computer, or adding us as a contact on AIM... all three keep a running transcript on their end until the session is completed.
    If they were to attempt to use anything else all I would hear is a very annoying and very loud screeching noise in my headset that makes me want to reach through the phone lines and slap the hell out of them.

Comment

Quoth smileyeagle1021 View Post
      Going through an automated menu, I typed out the entire menu, at the end it said "to repeat this menu, please press 9"... the deaf user, who had the entire text transcript of what had been said, asked me to please press 9 for him
      Can't you just copy and paste the text that you'd already typed? Save yourself the effort of having to fingerbone it all in again.