This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Turning the Tables..

It's hard to admit, but despite all the experience we have dealing with the angry people, the narcissists, the mentally deficient and melodramatic customers of this world.. sometimes we inadvertently find ourselves on the other side of the equation.

Go on, admit it. You've been a sucky customer once in your life.

A quick note about me: I work in IT, so my skillset necessarily involves troubleshooting, problem solving, and attention to detail. Let me stress that - I do this a million times a day, and am, if I may say so, very good at what I do. Keeping that in mind, here's a story about a broken oven..

Now.

About six months ago, I moved into a new apartment. Not being what you'd call a culinary master (making a sandwich is the height of my comestible prowess), it was about a month before I needed to use the oven.

I turn the temperature dial to 200° C, wait about fifteen minutes, and open the oven.

Stone cold.

I try the hotplates to see if the power is working at all (it's an electric oven, not gas). Power: Check. I pull out all the trays, grab a torch and look around to see if I can see the element. Nothing to be seen, but some ovens have them enclosed in the base, so I unscrew the plate below the oven door to try and get in. All my prior experience in oven repair has the unfortunate disadvantage of being fictitious, so I give up and call the Real Estate Agent I rent through to organise someone to come out to have a look at it. In the end, my property manager organises for a service repair person to swing by her office to get the house keys (work prevented me from being able to be there) and check out my oven.