Need work advice regarding customers who only speak Spanish

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need work advice regarding customers who only speak Spanish

I work as a fuel center clerk for a *major grocery store chain*, and there are times when the fuel center clerks need to solve customer issues regarding the fuel pumps. This *major grocery store chain* has a program where you earn fuel points when you grocery shop. You use your fuel points when paying at the pump so you gas is cheaper. You use your rewards card to do that. The cashier scans your rewards card before you pay for groceries, and the fuel points are added to your rewards card.

The customer pays at the fuel pump and then has one of the following issues

The fuel pump stopped pumping gas for some reason. What the exact reason is we do not know since the fuel center clerk was not at the fuel pump when that happened.

The customer did not know how to use the fuel points, and just paid for the gas without using the fuel points

The customer used some of their fuel points, but they really wanted to use more of their fuel points

The problem is this...

Once you pay for gas, and pump the gas, there is not anything we can do to solve this issue.

The register and the computer inside the kiosk are not programmed/designed to 1) add lost fuel points back to your rewards card or 2) put lost fuel points back on your rewards card

There is a full-time fuel center lead and a full-time assistant fuel center lead.

The assistant fuel center lead is bilingual.

Whenever there is an issue at the pump, and the customer 1) comes to the fuel center kiosk window to let us know what the issue is and 2) only speaks Spanish, he wants us to ask the customer what the issue is and what the customer wants done. He wants us to solve the issue or to attempt to solve the issue. The problem is that I am not bilingual.