This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Prejudice meets frustration

(I'm mainly thinking out loud on this one. Not expecting m/any responses, though of course they're appreciated.)

I work as a cashier at an upscale grocery store. About half the time I'm the only person (or one of two) up front who doesn't speak Spanish. Today for instance, for about half my shift, all 10 cashiers, baggers, and assistant managers were conversing in Spanish. I'm also pretty new here so this phenomenon is a trifle alienating, though not completely unfamiliar to me living and working in California. I already made another post about this so I'm not going to go beyond saying it is a bit frustrating, but out of necessity I've come to accept it.
    A couple days ago a middle-aged lady came through my lane. I'll paraphrase our interaction:
    Her: "Are you new here?"
    Me: "Yep, I'm pretty new."
    Her: "I thought you were new since you're the only one who isn't speaking Spanish."
    Me: "Heh... yea." (smiling)
    Her: "It's so rude when people speak another language in front of you. We speak English in this country!"
    Me: "...yea, well... I speak French, but that's no help."
    Her: "Moi aussi!"
    Me: "..."
    Her: "I spoke to G___ (the Manager) about this, but I guess my complaints fell on deaf ears."
    Me: "..." (thinking) "...ok thanks, bye."
    Her: "Bye."

I did have to cogitate about this interaction for awhile. This woman voiced what I in my darker fantasy would like to express--minus the part about hiring Caucasians/English-speakers. Nevertheless, I decided she was mostly in the wrong. I mean, it pisses me off feeling alienated, or worst, insulted in another language -- because that's something I would never do to someone else. But that's just the way it is and I see two general directions to head on this topic: 1) Become increasingly bitter about the changing demographics of the region in which I live; or 2) Accept it and try to adapt.